Asked by: Anuska Hanspaul
asked in category: General Last Updated: 11th March, 2020

What is a LEED assessment?

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is a voluntary environmental certification system developed by the U.S. Green Building Council in 2000. It covers design, construction, operation and maintenance. It is a competitor to the BREEAM environmental assessment method developed in the UK.

Click to see full answer.

Similarly, you may ask, what does LEED stand for?

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design

Secondly, what is a LEED building? LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is an internationally recognized green building certification system, providing third-party verification that a building or community was designed and built using strategies aimed at improving performance across all the metrics that matter most: energy savings, water

In this manner, what are the 4 levels of LEED certification?

The four LEED certification level designations are Platinum, Gold, Silver and Certified. Regardless of the certification level achieved, all projects must meet mandated prerequisites and then choose from 110 available credit points to reach the desired certification level.

What is the difference between LEED and Breeam?

There are other differences between the two programs: LEED bases its thresholds on percentages whereas BREEAM relies on quantitative standards. And Eszter Gulacsy, a sustainability consultant from MTT/Sustain says, LEED is simpler in its approach while BREEAM is more academic and rigorous.

29 Related Question Answers Found

Is the LEED exam difficult?

What is the benefit of LEED certification?

Is a LEED certification worth it?

What are the 7 components of green building?

How do you get LEED points?

Is LEED a word?

How do I get my house LEED certified?

What jobs can you get with LEED certification?

What does it mean to be LEED Silver certified?

How much does it cost to become LEED certified?

What is the highest LEED certification?

How do LEED points work?

What are the LEED categories?

What is required for LEED certification?