Asked by: Atman Stoffele
asked in category: General Last Updated: 22nd March, 2020

What are the types of galaxies in space?

In 1936, Hubble debuted a way to classify galaxies, grouping them into four main types: spiral galaxies, lenticular galaxies, elliptical galaxies, and irregular galaxies. More than two-thirds of all observed galaxies are spiral galaxies. Our Milky Way, like other spiral galaxies, has a linear, starry bar at its center.

Click to see full answer.

Similarly, what are the 4 types of galaxies?

This classification system is known as the Hubble Sequence. It divides galaxies into three main classes with a few variations. Today, galaxies are divided into four main groups: spiral, barred spiral, elliptical, and irregular.

Beside above, how many galaxies are there in the universe? one hundred billion galaxies

Regarding this, what are the types of galaxies?

As discussed in the section on galaxy classifications, Hubble found four distinct types of galaxies: elliptical, spiral, spiral barred and irregular. Although there are different types, we also learned that each galaxy contains the same elements, but these are arranged differently for each type.

Why are there different types of galaxies?

Explanation: The galaxies that have been undisturbed for billions of years are likely to form spiral, disk shaped galaxies. Smaller galaxies gravitationally attract each other and merge into an elliptical shape.

39 Related Question Answers Found

What is our galaxy name?

What is the Earth's galaxy called?

What is galaxy made of?

What defines a galaxy?

How big is the universe?

Which galaxy is largest smallest?

What is the second largest galaxy?

How do we identify galaxies?

How old is the universe?

How are stars formed?

How many galaxies are there in the Milky Way?