Asked by: Orquidea Rotfuss
asked in category: General Last Updated: 20th April, 2020

What are the 5 types of apes?

Orangutan, gorilla, chimpanzee, bonobo and human. These are the five great primates, which are so defined because they do not have tails and are a little bit ahead of their cousins monkeys on the evolution scale. Popularly one calls all the primates monkeys, but the truth is that monkeys are the ones who have tails.

Click to see full answer.

Correspondingly, how many types of apes are there?

four types

Furthermore, what are the different types of gorillas? Mountain gorilla Western gorilla Western lowland gorilla Eastern gorilla

In respect to this, what animals are classified as apes?

The non-human types of apes are divided into two groups: great apesgorillas, bonobos, chimpanzees and orangutans — and lesser apes — gibbons and siamangs. Apes are not monkeys; they belong to different branches of the Simian infraorder, and there are several physical differences.

What is the biggest monkey ever?

The primate fossil record suggests that the species Gigantopithecus blacki were the largest known primate species that ever lived, standing up to 3 m (9.8 ft) and weighing as much as 540–600 kg (1,190–1,320 lb), although some argue that it is more likely that they were much smaller, at roughly 1.8–2 m (5.9–6.6 ft) in

29 Related Question Answers Found

Can a human beat a chimp?

How long do apes live for?

What's a small ape called?

How smart are apes?

What is a big ape called?

Are orangutans friendly?

What is a bonobo monkey?

Are chimpanzees cannibals?

How many monkeys are in the world?

Do apes give birth like humans?

Do orangutans eat meat?

Can apes talk?

Are apes smarter than monkeys?