Asked by: Jianfei Gutala
asked in category: General Last Updated: 28th January, 2020

How the Chinese zodiac animals were chosen?

Twelve species turned up at the start line: a pig, dog, rooster, monkey, sheep, horse, snake, dragon, rabbit, tiger, ox and rat. As a reward for turning up, the Emperor named a year in the zodiac after each one, while the race would determine the order each animal would be placed.

Click to see full answer.

Thereof, how did the Chinese zodiac animals get decided?

Legend has it that, back in the ancient days, the Jade Emperor ordered that animals would become part of the calendar and that the 12 who arrived first would be selected. On the way, the rat bumped into the tiger, ox, horse and other animals - who were all much faster than him.

Furthermore, which animal did not make it to the Chinese zodiac? There are 12 Chinese zodiac signs, in the following order: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig. Each sign is named after an animal, and each animal has its own unique characteristics.

Similarly one may ask, which animal won the Chinese race?


How the rat won the race?

The rat and the cat, who were good friends, were worried because they were poor swimmers. Just as the ox was about to win the race, the rat leapt on his head and on to the bank to finish first. 'Well done,' said the Jade Emperor to the proud rat. 'The first year of the zodiac will be named after you.

30 Related Question Answers Found

What zodiac animal is Moon?

What is your birth sign?

What Chineses year is it?

What animal is Aquarius?

Why is there no cat in Chinese zodiac?

Which zodiac sign is the prettiest?

Is the cat a zodiac?

What race are the Chinese?

What comes after the Year of the Pig?

What is your Chinese element?