Asked by: Sundus Pilamunga
asked in category: General Last Updated: 14th March, 2020

How many different varieties of walnuts are there?

Although there are many different varieties of walnuts, they all fall into three basic categories: English (or Persian), Black and White (or Butternut). All three kinds of walnuts are known to be a wealthy source of omega-3 essential fatty acids and antioxidants, and vary in physical attributes, region and taste.

Click to see full answer.

Thereof, how many different types of edible nuts are there?

Of the 11 types of nut trees -- wingnut, beech, oak, stone oak, alder, birch, hornbeam, walnut, pecan, chestnut, and hazelnut (filbert) -- only the last four produce edible seeds.

Additionally, how many types of black walnut trees are there? While the black and English walnuts are the most prevalent in the United States, there are about 20 different species of walnut tree.

Also asked, how do I know what kind of walnut tree I have?

Identification When Dormant During dormancy, the black walnut can be identified by examining the bark; the leaf scars are seen when leaves are pulled away from branches, and by looking at the nuts that have fallen around the tree. In a black walnut, the bark is furrowed and dark in color (it is lighter in butternut).

Are all walnuts edible?

A walnut is the nut of any tree of the genus Juglans (Family Juglandaceae), particularly the Persian or English walnut, Juglans regia. A walnut is the edible seed of a drupe, and thus not a true botanical nut. It is commonly consumed as a nut.

37 Related Question Answers Found

What is a true nut in botany?

What is the most popular nut?

Can humans eat acorns?

Which nut is not a nut?

Is a coconut a fruit?

Where do nuts grow?

Can you eat walnuts straight from the tree?

What is the difference between walnuts and black walnuts?

How much is my walnut tree worth?

Can you eat walnut leaves?

Is American walnut and black walnut the same?