Asked by: Margrett Nevins
asked in category: General Last Updated: 2nd January, 2020

How many countries make up OPEC?

Opec Countries 2020. The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, or OPEC as it is frequently known, is an organization made up of 15 countries. The 15 nations that are a member of OPEC produce about 44% of the world's oil and own over 81.5% of the world's oil reserves.

Click to see full answer.

In this regard, how many countries are in OPEC 2019?

Current member countries As of January 2019, OPEC has 13 member countries: five in the Middle East (Western Asia), seven in Africa, and one in South America.

Beside above, who controls OPEC? Saudi Arabia - Opec: 12 oil barons who control the world's energy supply. Ali bin Ibrahim al-Naimi, Saudi Arabia's Minister of Petroleum & Natural Resources, is the most powerful voice within Opec.

Besides, which country left OPEC?


What are non OPEC countries?

Non-OPEC nations

  • 11,596. Russia.
  • 2,006. Kazakhstan.
  • 1,971. Mexico.
  • 976. Oman.
  • 772. Azerbaijan.
  • 700. Malaysia.
  • 213. Bahrain.
  • 151. S. Sudan.

38 Related Question Answers Found

Is OPEC a monopoly?


What does OPEC do exactly?

Why did Qatar leave OPEC?

Where are most OPEC countries located?

How does OPEC control the price of oil?

Which country holds the most oil?

Is Qatar a free country?

Are Qatar and US allies?