Asked by: Ronda Sadaram
asked in category: General Last Updated: 3rd February, 2020

How long do you have to press assault charges in Iowa?

If no other law applies, Iowa law considers an assault to be a simple misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $65 to $625. (Iowa Code Ann. § § 708.2, 708.2C, 708.3A, 903.1.)

Click to see full answer.


In this regard, how long can you wait to file assault charges?

If you were assaulted and you did not report it. You can report it at anytime however as time passes the prosecutor will be less likely to file charges. If you already reported the assault to the police the prosecutor basically has one year to file charges.

Likewise, what is the statute of limitations in Iowa? In Iowa, the general statute of limitations for felonies and “aggravated or serious” misdemeanors is three years. Simple misdemeanors have a generic limitations period of one year. See below for statutes of limitations for some specific offenses.

Hereof, can you press charges after 24 hours?

Yes. You can wait as long as you like to “press charges”. Though the only one who can press charges is the police (or DA, depending on your definitions and location).

How long do you have to press charges for breaking and entering?

In such cases, the charge of breaking and entering will generally be absorbed into the charge of burglary. This would result in a felony charge. Misdemeanor charges result in jail sentences of less than one year; felony charges usually involve jail sentences greater than one year, among other punishments.

36 Related Question Answers Found

What happens if someone presses charges against you for assault?

What happens if you beat someone up and they press charges?

How long can you wait to press charges for theft?


How long does it take for someone to press charges?

Do you need a lawyer to press assault charges?

What happens when charges pressed?


Can someone press charges without evidence?

How long do you have to report a theft?

How do I know if I have pending charges?


How long does a domestic violence charge stay on your record?

What happens after filing a police report?

How long does it take the district attorney to file charges?


Do most domestic violence cases go to trial?

What is felony assault?