Asked by: Abdollah Larratxori
asked in category: General Last Updated: 13th January, 2020

How long can a landlord hold a rent check in Oregon?

A landlord can hold a rent check up to six months and still cash it. After that, it's a stale check and up to individual bank policy.

Click to see full answer.


Considering this, why would a landlord hold a rent check?

If you aren't the legal tenant, the landlord may be holding the checks because he doesn't want you in the apartment or wants a new lease with higher rent. If he cashes your rent checks, he may be leaving himself open to a claim that he has authorized your tenancy. But future checks can be sent via certified mail.

Similarly, can you withhold rent in Oregon? Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent in Oregon (Or. Tenants also may withhold rent for some minor defects that can be reasonably repaired for not more than $300—but must follow the statute's rules regarding notice (Or. Rev. Stat.

Keeping this in view, how long does a landlord have to keep abandoned property in Oregon?

30 days

How long can someone hold a check?

In fact, under the Uniform Commercial Code, banks in the United States are not legally obligated to pay checks older than six months (link). Of course, this leaves some wiggle room. Your bank may not be required to honor an old check, but they might choose to do so.

37 Related Question Answers Found

How long can my landlord wait to cash rent check?

Why would a landlord not cash rent checks?

Do uncashed personal checks expire?


Can landlord refuse personal check?

What happens if landlord loses rent check?

Can I Post Date My rent check?


How long does it take an apartment complex to cash a check?

How long until something is considered abandoned?

How long do you have to keep someone's stuff after they move out?


How long before abandoned property becomes mine?

How long can someone leave their property at your house in Michigan?

What do you do with tenants after eviction?


How long can someone leave their property at your house in Florida?

How long do I have to keep my roommate's stuff?